2015 ‘Maths Team of the Year’

Kings Norton Girls’ School has taken the ‘Maths Team of the Year’ award at the prestigious 2015 TES Schools Awards held of Friday 19th June 2015. The awards, now in their seventh year, recognise outstanding contributions made by education teams and individuals to help students around the country to succeed, both inside and outside the classroom.

The maths department of Kings Norton Girls’ School has done two brave things. First, all classes up to Year 10 are mixed-ability. This avoids students being labelled as “bottom” or “top” set and instead instils in each child the belief that they can achieve in maths.

Second, it dedicates an entire half-term to each maths topic. This means teachers can go into real depth and allows plenty of time for rich, engaging activities that boost understanding and enjoyment. Indeed, students are extremely positive about maths and this is reflected in GCSE results that are well above the national average.

The judges said: “The impressive results the school has achieved and the positive feedback from students speak volumes for the success of these policies. But this could not have been achieved without the hard work and dedication of the staff. Many schools could learn from this innovative approach, making Kings Norton a worthy winner.”

Ann Mroz, Editor, TES, commented: “This is an exceptional set of interventions. What Kings Norton Girls’ School is doing is having an incredible impact.”

Winners attended a black-tie event in at the Grosvenor House Hotel, London, hosted by BAFTA-nominated writer and comedian Greg Davies, where over 1,000 attendees celebrated all that is outstanding in UK education, from the efforts of individual teachers to the work of entire schools.

The awards have 17 categories, including secondary school, primary school, alternative provision and healthy school of the year. New accolades have been introduced in 2015 for teacher-bloggers and early years’ settings, in addition to an award for the most creative school.

The winners were chosen by a panel of judges including the writer Anthony Horowitz, Dame Joan McVittie, Headteacher, Woodside High School, London, and Colin Bell, Chief Executive of the Council of British International Schools.

Full details of the winners can be viewed here.