KS4 Curriculum

The curriculum students follow in Years 10 and 11 is essentially divided into two parts: the core and the option subjects.

The core is the compulsory part of the curriculum and is largely determined by the government.

The core is divided into 2 parts:

  • Level 2 qualifications (GCSE, NVQ), which are examined.
  • Subjects which are not examined.

The examined part of the core consists of the following subjects:

  • Mathematics  GCSE
  • English Language and Literature (2 GCSEs)
  • Science GCSE ( Combined or Separate)
  • One Language – French, Spanish or German
  • Humanities – History or Geography

The non-examined part of the core is:

  • PE
  • IT
  • RE ( also available as an optional RS GCSE)
  • PSHE (including Citizenship, Careers and Work Related Learning)

Students choose three option subjects. Option choices cover a wide range of academic and DfE approved high quality vocational courses, which are agreed annually to meet the needs of all students.

Current Option subjects are:

GCSE: Art, Business Studies, Computer Science,  Drama, Geography, Food Preparation and Nutrition, Graphics, Geography, History, Media Studies, Second Modern Foreign Language, Music, PE, Photography, Religious Studies, Sociology and Textiles.

OCR Cambridge National: Health and Social Care.

further information

For full curriculum details please view the relevant booklet below:

Key Stage 4 Options Booklet 2021-23

Key Stage 4 Options Booklet 2020-22